Solid Earth - Magnetism

The "Institut National des Sciences de l'Univers" (INSU) of the CNRS has identified a number of major objectives for magnetism observations and has labelled several EOST services as "National Observation Services", either as a pilot or as a participant.

EOST hosts the headquarters of the International Service of Geomagnetic Indices and ensures its direction in the international context of the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA).

EOST also manages six permanent magnetic stations located in the Southern Territories, Antarctica and Madagascar. These 6 observatories are part of the French network of the Bureau Central de Magnétisme Terrestre (BCMT).