Earth Sciences Master : Geophysics, geology and Earth system dynamics

Objectives

This specialty entitled "Earth Sciences: geophysics, geology and earth system dynamics" is for students wishing to prepare a thesis or take up a professional post in enterprises in the sectors of energy, resources, environment and geological risks.

The EOST Earth Sciences Masters is based on the very dynamic research potential of the Earth Physics Institute in Strasbourg in geology and geophysics. This research is internationally recognized in the academic world and by many companies (oil, mining and geothermal exploitation companies) with which geologists and geophysicists of the IPGS have very close relations. They include Total, Exxon, Areva, Schlumberger, CGG, BRGM, Electricité de Strasbourg, etc.


The ultimate goal is to train people who could enter a doctoral cycle, and in the fields of basic research like those of upstream research of applications in corporate energy and mining sectors.

Teaching

Teaching helps develop the ability to work on multidisciplinary projects in geosciences and to approach the study of natural systems characterised by high complexity and by varied space and time scales.

The Earth Sciences Masters attaches great importance to theoretical training and field training, always in connection with research in geology and geophysics carried out by the teams of the IPGS

Teaching brings extensive knowledge in the following areas:

  • Tectonics of sedimentary basins
  • Sedimentology
  • Deep tectonics (rheology, petrology, geochemistry)
  • Fundamental geophysics

Geophysics applied to the modelling of geological processes

The Masters, every half year, includes teaching units belonging to a common core curriculum and a selection of unitsallowing each student to create their own path based on initial training and their professional project. The Master is obtained after validation of three half years of study and one half year of laboratory research internship.

International Masters

The International Masters SRE-MGH (Subterranean Reservoirs of Energy: Hydrodynamics, Geophysics, Modelling), offered in collaboration with the University of Lorraine, is designed for foreign students from countries producing underground energy. It is the only English-language Master in reservoir engineering and geophysics in France.

Sciences de la Terre : Géophysique, géologie et dynamique des systèmes terrestres

Objectifs

Cette spécialité intitulée «Sciences de la Terre : géophysique, géologie et dynamique des systèmes terrestres» s’adresse aux étudiants désirant préparer une thèse ou s’insérer professionnellement en entreprise dans les secteurs de l’énergie, des ressources, de l’environnement et des risques géologiques.

Le master Sciences de la Terre de l’EOST s’appuie sur un potentiel de recherche très dynamique de l’Institut de Physique du Globe de Strasbourg en géologie et en géophysique. Cette recherche est reconnue internationalement dans le monde académique et par de nombreuses entreprises (sociétés pétrolières, d’exploitation minières et géothermique) avec lesquelles les géologues et les géophysiciens de l’IPGS ont des relations très étroites. On peut citer Total, Exon, Areva,  Schlumberger, CGG, BRGM, Electricité de Strasbourg….

L’objectif ultime est de former des personnes qui pourront entrer dans un cycle doctoral, puis dans les métiers de la recherche fondamentale comme ceux de la recherche en amont des applications dans les entreprises des secteurs énergétique et minier.

Enseignements

La formation permet de développer l’aptitude à travailler sur des projets pluridisciplinaires en géosciences et à aborder l’étude de systèmes naturels caractérisés par une grande complexité et par des échelles d’espace et de temps variées.

Le Master Sciences de la Terre accorde une grande place à la formation théorique mais également aux stages sur le terrain, toujours en lien avec la recherche en géologie et en géophysique faite par les équipes de l’IPGS

L’enseignement apporte des connaissances approfondies dans les domaines suivants :

  • tectonique des bassins sédimentaires
  • sédimentologie
  • tectonique profonde (rhéologie, pétrologie, géochimie)
  • géophysique fondamentale
  • géophysique appliquée à la modélisation des processus géologiques

Le Master comprend chaque semestre des unités d'enseignement appartenant à un tronc commun et des unités à choix permettant à chaque étudiant de constituer son propre parcours en fonction de sa formation initiale et de son projet professionnel. Le Master est obtenu après validation de trois semestres d'enseignement et un semestre de stage de recherche en laboratoire .

Master international

Le Master international SRE-HGM (Subterranean Reservoirs of Energy: Hydrodynamics, Geophysics, Modelling), proposé en collaboration avec l’Université de Lorraine, est destiné aux étudiants étrangers en provenance des pays producteurs d’énergies souterraines. C’est le seul Master anglophone en ingénierie des réservoirs et géophysique en France.