Engineering and Geosciences for the Environment (ISIE)

Areas

  • Environment, water, soil, subsoil, pollution (air).
  • Environmental Sciences (hydrology, geochemistry, geology, biology, soil science) and ecosystems (biodiversity, toxicology).
  • Mathematical modelling of hydrogeochemical transfers.

Training aims

The specialty "Engineering and Geosciences for the Environment" is part of the Earth Sciences and Environment Masters supported by EOST within the University of Strasbourg. It is accredited with the engineering school of the ENGEES  (National School of Water and Environmental Engineering of Strasbourg).

This specialization is for students wishing to integrate a company or a prepare a thesis in the areas of management of water pollutants and soil or modelling their transfer in continental ecosystems (natural and contaminated). The main objective of this course is to offer students a multidisciplinary education based on two courses that can be adapted to each student's professional project. Both courses are oriented around:

1) modelling of water transfers and associated material (transport-reactive) leading to an estimate of the dynamics and quality of surface and groundwater;

2) management of pollutants and understanding of their transfer in continental ecosystems, including managements of waste water and waste and the result of agricultural activities (pesticides, fertilizers, etc.)

The second major objective of this training is to provide students with a capacity of initiative and autonomy in the design and implementation of multidisciplinary projects in a context of sustainable development.

 

Teaching

Teaching takes place over 4 half years. The first two half years are for acquisition fundamental knowledge hydrology, geochemistry and soil science as well as basic knowledge in law and management of geographical databases. The third half year is intended for specialisation through the choice of the course "modelling of hydro geochemical transfers" or the course "management of pollutants and associated risks." The fourth half year consists of a traineeship  from 4 to 6 months in a company or research laboratory depending on the professional project.

Teaching is based on lectures, tutorials and practical work, field trips and courses, visits to industrial sites and natural environments (dynamic coastal environments at Mont Saint Michel, sampling techniques from experimental watersheds, ecology of rivers, hydrology, etc.).

Much of the teaching is based on the research activities of the LHyGeS (Laboratory of Hydrology and Geochemistry of Strasbourg), which ensures a high level of development of methods and tools taught. Outside contributors (Manufacturers, design offices, etc.) as well as internships spent annually in laboratory and enterprise ensure permanent contact with the professional world and prepare students for their future integration.

 Students wishing to reinforce their learning on hydro-geochemical transfers through in-depth knowledge of geology of reservoirs or digital techniques can apply for registration (application file) for the course known as "joint honours".

Ingénierie et Géosciences pour l'Environnement (ISiE)

Domaines

  • Environnement, eau, sol, sous-sol, pollutions, (air).
  • Sciences de l'environnement (hydrologie, géochimie, géologie, biologie, sciences du sol) et des écosystèmes (biodiversité, toxicologie).
  • Modélisations mathématiques des transferts hydrogéochimiques.

Objectifs de la formation

La spécialité « Ingénierie et Géosciences pour l’Environnement » fait partie du Master Sciences de la Terre et de l’Environnement porté par l’EOST au sein de l’Université de Strasbourg. Elle est cohabilitée avec l’école d’ingénieur de l’ENGEES (École Nationale du Génie de l'Eau et de l'Environnement de Strasbourg).

Cette spécialité s’adresse aux étudiants désirant s’insérer en entreprise ou préparer une thèse dans les secteurs de la gestion des polluants de l’eau et des sols ou de la modélisation de leur transfert dans les écosystèmes continentaux (naturels et contaminés). Le principal objectif de cette formation est de proposer aux étudiants un enseignement pluridisciplinaire reposant sur deux parcours qui peuvent être personnalisés en fonction du projet professionnel de chacun. Ces deux parcours s’orientent autour :

1)    de la modélisation des transferts d’eau et de matière associée (transport-réactif) conduisant à une estimation de la dynamique et de la qualité des eaux de surface et souterraines ;

2)    de la gestion des polluants et de la compréhension de leur transfert dans les écosystèmes continentaux, incluant la gestions des eaux usées et des déchets et les conséquence des activités agricoles (pesticides, engrais,…).

Le deuxième objectif important de cette formation est d’apporter aux étudiants une capacité d’initiative et d’autonomie dans la conception et la réalisation de projets pluridisciplinaires dans un contexte de développement durable.

Enseignements

La formation se déroule en 4 semestres. Les deux premiers semestres sont destinés à l’acquisition des connaissances fondamentales en hydrologie, géochimie et pédologie ainsi que sur des connaissances de base en droit et en gestion des bases de données géographiques. Le troisième semestre est destiné à la spécialisation à travers le choix du parcours de « modélisation des transferts hydrogéochimiques » ou du parcours de « gestion des polluants et risques associés ». Le quatrième semestre est composé d’un stage de 5 à 7 mois en entreprise ou en laboratoire de recherche suivant le projet professionnel.

La formation s’appuie sur des cours magistraux, des travaux dirigés et pratiques, des sorties et stages de terrain, des visites de sites industriels et de milieux naturels (dynamique des environnements littoraux au Mont Saint Michel, techniques de prélèvement sur bassins versants expérimentaux, écologie des cours d’eau, hydrologie…).

Une grande partie de l’enseignement s’appuie sur les activités de recherche du LHyGeS (Laboratoire d’Hydrologie et de Géochimie de Strasbourg), ce qui assure un haut niveau de développement des méthodes et outils enseignés. Des intervenants extérieurs (industriels, bureau d’étude,…) ainsi que des stages réalisés chaque année en laboratoire et en entreprise assurent un contact permanent avec le monde professionnel et préparent les étudiants à leur future insertion.

Les étudiants désirant renforcer leur formation sur les transferts hydro-géochimiques par des connaissances approfondies sur la géologie des réservoirs ou sur les techniques numériques avancées peuvent demander une inscription (sur dossier) aux parcours dits de « double compétence ».